Everyone should follow a vegetarian diet because it is not necessary to eat meat to be healthy. Do you agree or disagree?

it is often argued that all whether people should religiously follow a vegetarian just because meat is not everything someone needs to be fit and healthy. While it is a debatable topic, I strongly disagree with the idea that all the people should be forced to become a vegan or a vegetarian as many a time the food choices are not personal but depends upon the climatic conditions and type of food available locally for survival. This essay wil first discuss the aforementioned idea in detail and provide evidence to support.

The main drawback of eating meat products such as beef, pork, salmon, mutton, chicken is diseases such as obesity, a plethora of flu and other heart-related ailments. Furthermore, it is also against animal rights. For instance, according to a recent survey by the University of Boston, there is an alraming increase in the trend of obese percentage of the population in the countries with more meat consumption.

Despite the negative aspects mentioned above, lifecycle and food chain has to be maintained. there are several causes which contribute; firstly, at times there is no choice available due to other dependent factors. The staple diet is affected a lot by the availability of the local food and climatic conditions. For instance, seaside cities like Krabi, Bali the most easily available source of food is seafood such as fish, prawns, shells etc. Therefore, often individuals have limited options. Secondly, in cold areas to keep the body temperature stable, consumption of high protein food is necessary like meat, to keep alive. Hence, at times it is more of a survival trick then pleasure.

To recapitulate, the aforementioned ideas evidently encapsulate the two reasons explaining how everyone cannot be a vegetarian even if all the required nutrients can be provided by vegetarian food like green vegetables, diary products, fruits etc.