Explain some of the ways in which humans are damaging the environment. What can governments do to address these problems? What can individual people do?

Deforestation, pollution, global warming,

Government increase taxes, improve public transport, renewable energy,

Recycle and reuse, car pool, bicycle

Humans are responsible for variety of environmental problems, however we can do steps to contain or eradicate the problems so that the planet is not further damaged. This essay will evaluate some of the problems and possible solutions that can be implemented by government and individuals.

Air pollution and waste are the two biggest threats to the global environment. Emission of harmful from factories, cars, trucks are not only polluting environment but also eroding ozone layer of the atmosphere exposing people to dangerous ultraviolet rays from the Sun. As the population is growing, greener pastures are getting replaced by concrete jungle for more houses, damaging ecological harmony. As a result, global warming is increasing at alarming speed.

National and state governments can take due measures to control air pollution which is one of the major contributor of environmental damage. They could impose laws on industries and companies to reduce gas emission and force them to use renewable energy sources like solar , wind or water power. Additionally, they could levy green taxes on car owners and airlines in order to promote better ways of commutation such as public or car pool.

People plays equal and important role in improving earth’s environment and support government’s effort. They can take public transport to commute and use products which can be reused. For instance, many supermarkets sell products in recyclable packaging material. Car pooling is another method to reduce pollution and reduce waste. Hence by recycling and reusing the material , pollution can be reduced.

To conclude, it can be viewed from above illustration that government and people must play their role in reducing the pollution.