The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads.

Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the last century, our world has changed dramatically. Urbanization, prompt technologies advancement, industrialization, and welfare growth led to an overwhelming number of cars on the streets of every city. It’s now the time to try to amend the situation, and I can’t agree more that we really need it. Still, I would consider not only switching to alternative transport and enforcing the control, but also other ways to improve the situation, which I would describe in my essay.

First of all, I would like to explain the reason for my negative attitude to the abundance of cars in our world. The biggest issue is that vehicles cause enormous harm to the environment. For example, the gas emitted by vehicles has a significant impact on the global warming effect. The problem with the utilization of old vehicles exemplifies another negative consequence for the global environment. And, moreover, many people get injuries and even die in car accidents.

Considering all these reasons, I strongly support the idea of promoting the system of public transportation, with a focus not only on ecologically and economically efficient technologies but also on safety as well as comfort. For example, the buses working on solar batteries already introduced in my city, with air conditioning, free wi-fi and USB ports. Also, the mobile application developed to obtain all the needed information on the route and timetable, which should really attract passengers and make public transport more appealing versus car driving.

Another action should be regulation of cars technical condition, which would not only help to control gas emission, but also improve the safety situation on the roads. For instance, the taxes could vary depending on the ecological class of the car. Or, as some European countries practice, access to the city center is prohibited for cars with low standards of emission. These solutions would help to control the emission level and stimulate drivers to use public transport more frequently.

The third intervention, which I personally really like, but this is the top of a pyramid, rather than the fixing the base, is proper planning of cities structure. At the moment the majority of cities have downtown, or city where the majority of offices are located, while the workforce lives in suburbs and quiet areas in the outskirts of the city. Such planning requires people to spend hours weekly to get from home to work and backward, using cars or public transport. In an ideal city, which is built for people, not for cars, I would imagine more cozy planning with short work-home distance, and all the infrastructure objects located nearby.

To summarize, I’d like to say that the humankind is faced with significant challenges, and we need to undergo this transitional period for a better future.