Food travels thousands of miles from farm to customers. Some people believe we should buy food from the local farmer to protect the environment and support the local business. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Naturally, aliments producing in farm reach in the hand of end-users after travelling many kilometers. Some people think that if we want to preserve the atmosphere as well as the local economy, we ought to purchase sustenance from the local suppliers itself. It has both pros and cons. I believe that such a tendency is more advantageous because it is helpful not only to any individual but also to the nation.

Proponents of local farm products cite a host of benefits. Firstly, if people buy food from the local vendors around us, persons involved in this business will get its economic benefits advantages. As a result, it will enhance not only the local economy but also the overall market condition as the money will rotate there itself. Secondly, people will get a chance to consume fresh supplements even at reasonable rates since food from sites will reach to the local market within short durations along with lesser transportation cost eventually, common men’s monthly budget would also improve.

On the contrary, many people do not support this view of eating local food due to many drawbacks. Principally, as farmers use the higher amount of pesticides in order to increase the production of food, nowadays, which is directly consumed by customers, such food is a direct threat to public health. Besides, they feel low when they want to add new eatables in their diet, and they are unable to do so because markets are full of local foods itself, therefore, they have to rely on limited food options.

To conclude, undoubtedly, our prime focus must be on supporting local farmers if we want to save the environment and the local market as such a phenomenon has a large number of effective pros compared to disadvantages.