Formal exams are used to assess students at the end of each semester in many countries Why are these exams used by schools and universities What other types of assessment are possible

Official exams are often used by many countries as a way of evaluating the students by the end of each academic term. These exams are used by universities to evaluate student’s learning ability throughout the year. However, there are other measures to judge above such as conducting practical session, interviews and questionnaire with students.

Formal tests are conducted by institutions to determine where the student stands in terms of understanding the subject matter. These help school authorities to differentiate students in academic level. Moreover, they get a view of their education system whether it is helpful for students or not. My father is Head of the department in a university deals with the good amount of students in his area. Exams help him to verify if his teaching methods are beneficial to students. Also, he generally asks toppers to guide average students to get a better score in exams. Therefore, the official form of written exams held at universities plays an enormous role in student’s academic growth.

On the other hand, conducting face-to-face interviews with the student about the subject, practical or hands-on experience of the task and question-answer sessions on a particular topic can be considered as other ways to rectify students’ knowledge. Practical implementation help person to get a real life experience of anything which he or she may not be able to understand in writing. Interviews improve student’s confidence in communication. The questionnaire with students provides the teacher with the clarity of teaching method and the visibility of student’s concentration level in the class. Due to the above reasons, these different ways can also be used for evaluation by schools.

Exams are ideal practices of identifying the knowledge level of students, whereas other methods explained above are of similar weight as written exams for student’s examination. These methods not only help universities to reform their education system but also helps students to learn from their mistakes.