Fossil fuels are the main source of energy for most countries. However, alternative source of energy (wind and solar) have been encouraged to be used by some countries. To what extent is this a positive or negative development?

Human's reliability on fossil fuels has been always a debatable topic over the years. Even today, many countries completely relay on these forms of energy while some take an extra effort to promote other forms of energy production. This essay will discuss the new development and reach a sensible conclusion.

To begin with, fossil fuel, a non-renewable energy, is running out. To exemplify, a study conducted by an American university has revealed that, at present, crude oil is vanishing at a rate of 4 billion tonne per year, and if this trend continues, these oil reserves will dry out within 50 years. In addition to that burning of fossil fuels aggravates various environmental issues, for huge carbon dioxide flames are emitted from this process so that UV rays from the sun get trapped in the earth's atmosphere, and it leads to global warming.

Besides, the renewable energy sources such as sunlight and wind are abundance in supply. Because of that, there is no need to concern about its availability in the earth: it helps many a countries, where fossil fuel deposits are inadequate to meet their demands, to stand on their own feet by reducing fossil fuel import from alien lands. Apart from this, during power production, these alternative energy sources leave zero chance for carbon dioxide emission compare to conventional forms, and the conservation of environment is guaranteed up to an extent.

To sum up, even though many nations still depend on fossil fuels, the time has arrived to find an alternative sources like solar and wind energy, which are comparatively less polluting, for the sustainable development of countries.As such, there is no doubt that if governments promote this constructive methods, the better will be the result.