The government s investment in arts music and theatre is a waste of money Governments should invest these funds in public services instead To what extent do you agree with this statement

- It is completely evident that governments allocate parts of their annual budget for both public services and art fields. Although there is an assertion that the devoting the budget to the arts is squandering money, I am inclined to the belief that both categories are equally considerable.

- To begin with, nation-wide convenient life is the most rational justification for the importance of public services. That is to say, officials should take the preparation some necessities of life such as the public transport and medical services into consideration. Simply put, by growth of the population the requisition of more convenient communication systems can be more tangible. As well as this, governments have to enhance public health by increasing and equipping health care centres. Obviously, negligence in their performance of such these services can be followed by irreversible damages.

- However, taking art into consideration is equally important. Having said that, beside the daily activities existence of artistic centres such as movie theatres and concert halls is necessary. That is, there are a pile of scientific evidences suggested that performance of such these programs can improve the society mental health significantly. This is in addition to people’s demanding to amusement places. To put it differently, it is all-pervasive these days that people spend a majority part of their leisure time for artistic programs.

- As a result, considering the points discussed above, the most rational conclusion to be drawn is that governments should pay attention to art activities by setting up a fund as well as public services.