A growing number of people work by telecommuting, that is, the employee works from home, using a computer and the Internet to connect with the office.What are the advantages and disadvantages of working this way?

In conjunction with the advancements in communication technology, tele working is prevailing nowadays. It is beneficial in terms of saving time, money and flexibility, however, it's social, personal and professional repercussions are inevitable.

To begin with the advantages, the first and foremost is that a tele commuter can save time and money. Since this kind of working does not require travel to and from home, one can save travelling expenses and time taken to commute between home and office. Secondly, working from home is more flexible as a worker can manage his household work and office work according to his time table. This also allows him to spend time with family.

However, it cannot be denied that due to its convenience, people tend to spend more time on work which sometimes deprives them of family love and communication with near and dears. As a result, it gives birth to family disputes and makes people socially inert. For example, it has been surveyed that an average tele commuter spends approximately 12 hours on his job, resulting into family problems and societal challenges. Apart from this, absence of co-workers and discipline also leads to monotonous and apathy which results in low work performance.

In conclusion, working away from office is time saving, cost effective and easy to manage. On the other hand, it creates problems in family social circle and productivity.