A growing numbers of cities are making their centres pedestrian only zones What are the advantages and disadvantages

Many cities of various countries are making their downtown area to no vehicle zone and allow people to enter the centres only on their feet.

In my opinion, the benefits of this change are more significant because it helps to save more fuel and decreases congestion in the public area.

Firstly, if cities prohibit vehicles from entering the city centres, then it may put a significant impact on various businesses and old aged people. Mainly, there are shops and restaurants in downtown and to bring bulky goods without any truck or a car at their place can become a difficult task for many business owners. Also, mainly the senior citizens are physically challenged and walking for them may be impossible for them. For instance, in my city, most of the aged people send someone from their family to the city centre to bring any required item.

However, from my point of view, if people are allowed to travel only on feet in the downtown area, then it can help to reduce traffic congestion as well as noise pollution. Firstly, most of the people have their private car, which results in more and more horn noises and leads to more disturbance and pollution. Hence, this issue can be no longer there in the city centre. Secondly, if there are only people everywhere, then the problem of massive traffic jams can be easily solved. For example, the metropolitan cities in North America have adopted this strategy in their city area and are now free from the issue of noise pollution.

In conclusion, From the essay, it is seen that the advantages of having a pedestrian in city centre outstrip the disadvantages. It not only solves the problem of noise pollution but also decreases traffic congestions.