the growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing do you agree or disagree

Over the last decades computers and Internet connections have become affordable to a constantly growing number of users, which has been having a profound impact on the economic tissue of developed countries. Considered as one of the most decisive breakthroug of the last century, the Internet has permanently changed the way we face our day-to-day life. Computers play a major role in several fields, from high-tech surgeries to mechanical engineering so that it can be said that a modern, technologically developed world would be unthinkable without computers and the Internet.

Activities likes shopping or booking holidays carried out thanks to the Internet have increased markedly in scale and scope over the past few years, generating a fertil soil for multinational companies like Amazon or Ali Baba, where consumers from all over the world can purchase almost every item they desire with a couple of clicks. Without leaving home, it is nowadays possible to book a holiday, to plan a trip and to order food in a matter of minutes.

Allo of these amazing aspects, however should not blind us to the fact that the explosion of Internet-based services has its own downside as well.

May stores have been shut down, due to the fact they were not more able to keep up with the competition of big companies like Amazon, which, having the capacity to rely on millions of consumers, have an unbridgeable edge over traditional shops. Althoug the progressive disappearance of retailed business represent sometimes a huge loss for the vitality of a neighbourood or a street, I do not believe that Internet shops will be in a foreseeable future wiping the out. People still need phisical places where they can see items, try them on or just talk to clerks.

Furthermore, surveys show that a large number of stores have adapted to the new online trend, so that customers can choose whether to purchase goods in the traditional way or to turn to the Internet.

In conclusion, although online shopping represents a valide alternative to traditional routes of buying, since it allows to purchase good from all over the world quickly and safely, traditional shops are not destined to disappear.