Handwriting has become less formal and it is done in a more relaxing way now than in the past. What are the causes? Are there more advantages or disadvantages of this trend?

Indubitably, over the past few years, a plethora number of individuals are preferring to write on electronic gadgets such as computers, mobile phones, and Ipads rather than writing on paper or sheets. Not only this kind of development has merits, but also it has demerits. In this essay, I will discuss the causes of the current trend and explain the pros and cons in detail.

Apparently, there are two prime reasons behind handwriting is less attractive to people nowadays. Firstly, modern people are using technological devices to type and write such as essays, emails, documents, printed letters, and many more. This type of habit provides more comfort, minimizes the mistakes in our writing. Another cause with this trend is that people find it easier to read words if they are printed or typed in software on electrical devices such as laptops, smartphones, and Ipads. Therefore, with this ongoing trend of following methods of writing, hand-writing has become informal among humans.

On the one side, the benefits of this development. The first and foremost is fact is that individuals find it easier to type their texts, letters on computers instead of writing on paper. Plus, many people, especially the younger generation are good at typing instead of good handwriting. Secondly, it reduces the effect of deforestation due to the less consumption of paper in the world. Thirdly, the errors are easily resolved while typing texts, letters, and documents on computers with the help of software. Because, if we write any piece of article or document on papers, we need to read it carefully which causes a painstaking problem to our eye-sight and it could result to increase of stress and workload.

On the flip side, no one can deny the negatives of this development. Chiefly, hand-writing is significantly important in our lives. For instance, a child requires to learn words, alphabets, numbers by writing on a piece of paper rather than writing on the computer. Besides, if children will continue to write on computer software, they might lose a grip on their handwriting.

To conclude, handwriting is crucial in our lives. However, the trend of writing on technological devices has more benefits. In my view, people should maintain a balance between the use of writing printed documents and handwritten papers otherwise we might lose our handwriting skill set.