High stakes English language tests, such as IELTS, are increasingly being delivered on the computer.Do the advantages of computer-based testing outweigh the disadvantages?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowl

People from around the world take English language tests, such as IELTS, in order to migrate, enter university or attain employment. As computer technology improves, these high-stakes tests are shifting away from human examiners to computers. In my opinion, I subscribe to this idea, for computer-based testing has more merits than some manageable demerits.

There are some drawbacks associated with the shift away from traditional testing. To begin with, the main issue is that language examiners will lose their jobs. Hundreds of thousands of people currently employed by testing organizations will be forced to find work elsewhere as computers begin to replace them. In addition, computer-based language tests will take some time to develop and there will be some problems as they mature. For example, there will be technical problems about how to test a candidate’s spoken and written English through computers. Obviously, this will take time to perfect.

Nevertheless, there are two important advantages that computers-based tests possess. First, computer systems used to assess candidates will continue to improve over time and become more refined in the near future. As computers collect thousands of candidate responses, they will use these data to improve themselves and eventually supersede human examiners. Second, candidates will be able to prepare for language tests online. This will facilitate their learning as online test preparation is arguably more effective, efficient, convenient and cost-effective. More important, computer-based testing follows the eco-friendly trend as it can save more resources such as paper, pencils and erasers.

In spite of the opposing views, I argue that the benefits of online assessment far outweigh the drawbacks because this testing method saves more time and resources and facilitates language learning. Though some people might be skeptical about the feasibility and accuracy of online testing, the cutting-edge technology would definitely solve the technical problems that might happen in computer-based language examinations. Therefore, it is justifiable to assert that online testing modes are far superior to traditional ones.