With the increasing demand for energy sources such as oil and gas should people be looking for sources of oil and gas in remote and untouched places Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages of damaging such areas

In recent years, there has been a growing concern about energy shortage. This has led to the suggestion that people should look for gasoline in some desolate places. However, it is unwise to follow this advice as the drawbacks of this decision outweigh its benefits.

Admittedly, there are some advantages accruing from extracting oil in uncharted places. For instance, if a company initiates an oil exploitation project in Northwest Territories, it definitely stimulates the local economy. This is because its huge investment is sure to generate more job opportunities such as accounting, engineering, catering business and communication. With more local residents being hired from that company, they have more incomes, and part of them will be spent on the consumption of goods or other services, thereby developing a prosperous living place.

Despite the above benefits, there are also some disadvantages of finding crude oil from faraway areas. Pollution is the first price people need to pay for this action. Two decades ago, for example, an oil spill occurred in the Gulf of Mexico during the exploitation of oil. This incident resulted in water and air pollution in that place. With a large amount of unrefined oil being spilled over the surface of the ocean, tons of heavy metal and toxic substances devastated the wildlife habitats, particularly those animals living around the waters. This severe contamination wreaked havoc on the marine ecosystem. Worse still, it was reported that some people got poisoned after eating those polluted sea animals such as fish, shrimps, oysters and crabs.

Considering the irrecoverable impacts of pollution, I would argue that the drawbacks of extracting fossil fuels in remote and unexplored locations surpass the benefits. Although this measure might boost the local economy, the negative repercussions are harmful to both people and the ecosystem.