How has public transportation changed in recent deades

Starting from a historic point of view, it is widely believed that God created man in the garden of Eden which is somewhere in Europe. From this location, man moved to other parts of the earth until we have the continental blocks as defined in the world map today.

Initially, transportation was by foot and animals known as beasts of burden such as horses, donkeys and elephants to mention a few.

Over time, man invented the horse driven carts initially used by royals and the wealthy. This was later followed by the chain and pedal driven bicycles.

By the late 1800s, the first invention of the automobile was given birth to and the engine power was related to the horse power which is still being used today. Several research efforts have been done in order to improve on the automobile and today we have different kinds of automobile with high speed compared to the first one being deployed publicly to commute from one place to the other.

Talk about transportation will be incomplete without the rail transport and the air transport system. Compared to the early trains, driven by coal powered locomotive engines, we now have high speed electric trains, monorails assisting in the transportation of goods and services from one place to another. The speed of the earlier locomotives are incomparable to the high speed trains of today. In advanced countries, commuters rely so much on train services to get to their places of work and this has proven to be very effective.

Also, from the gliders invented by the Bright brothers, air travel has since seen remarkable improvements with the Boeing's and other companies manufacturing supersonic high speed, high altitude jets.It is now possible to move from one continent to another within a short time. This once seen as big deals are now ubiquitous.

With all the good sides mentioned, there are some drawbacks of the remarkable achievements. First, the use of fossil fuel or petroleum to drive this vehicles contributed immensely to climate change challenges seen today. Gas flaring, and the emissions from the exhausts all contribute to the depletion of the ozone layer and the dangerous weather and climatic conditions of our time.

Second, a lot of lives have been lost to automobile accidents thus throwing families and dependents into sorrow.

Third, even though nothing compares to life, yet one cannot successfully quantify losses without considering the material aspect; a lot of resources have been wasted due to transport related accidents.

Time will fail me to mention the damages to organizations reputation, payouts , insurance premiums for affected people's relatives and other associated losses.

Transportation has come to stay and will always be relevant to man. However, there is the need to consider further improvements with relatively lesser negative impacts on people, business and the environment. In my opinion, I believe a safer and faster public transport system is the way to go.