IELTS Writing Task 2/ IELTS Essay:

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

It is sometimes said that people should be encouraged to get married before they are 30, as this is the best for the individual and for society.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The institution of marriage is sacred and is practiced in almost all the countries in the world. In today’s modern times getting married at age 30 or later is not considered a big deal. I agree that people should get married before they turn 30. The two reasons I believe play an important role are younger couple’s ability to adapt to a new way of life and women’s ability to have children when they are young.

Firstly, I want to point out that it is difficult for people to change as they get older. After marriage couples may need to change their behaviour a bit so that they can understand each other better and get along. This gets tougher as people start getting older. For example, an article published in a popular newspaper in India showed that people who married in their mid twenties had a lower chance of divorce than those who got married after 30.

Secondly, it is important for husband and wife to devote time to know each other after marriage. Since most people have children post marriage, the younger the girl is the lower is the chances of complications at delivery. For example, a research done by Fortis Hospital showed that 30% women who bore children after 30 had complications in pregnancy. Thus, it is recommended that women should bear children before they turn 30.

To summarise, I feel getting married in the twenties is a good idea. It gives couples more time to know each other and to plan a family. However, in today’s modern world where women are working full time and professional life is stressful more people are getting married late.