With an increase in the number of privately owned vehicles, roads are becoming more congested. What measures could both government and individuals take to deal with this situation?

Burgeoning traffic jams are a major problem in large cities around the world. Experiencing difficulties, many individuals prefer using their own vehicles instead of public transportation. Such a devastating issue could be solved with the help of both governments and individuals as it will be discussed in this essay.

Governments have the responsibility to address the problems related to the population within their jurisdiction. Despite having financial difficulties, they should dedicate a huge proportion of their annual budget for the development of the existing infrastructure. Constructing new train and bus stations would not only reduces the traffic issues by attracting more customers, but also lowers the travel times which could be a game changer for their users. Would any wise person prefer driving a private vehicle over using the metro if he knew that he would arrive noticeably sooner?

When it comes to solving the congestion problems, the role of the people is not negligible. Although they have every right to choose their transportation option, they are able to lessen the traffic issues by using the existing public transportation systems or a bicycle. Also, they have the ability to motivate their friends and family members to use such options. Studies indicate that since the Dutch people use their bicycles to commute within their cities, Holland experiences 70 percent less traffic jams compared to the UK.

To conclude, by synergism, we are able to overcome all of our everyday complications. While the main burden is on the governments’ shoulders as they have to improve the existing infrastructure, people have the same amount of responsibility amongst solving the rising congestion issues by using public transportation systems.