The increasing demand for oil and gas has made it necessary to look for these energy resources in remote and untouched natural places. Do you think the advantages of locating oil and gas in these areas outweigh the disadvantages of damaging these places?

The rising demand of oil and gas has made it essential to find these sources of energy in remote and isolated natural places. Although it has merit of more production of oil and gas, its demerits which include not only damage to environment but also loss of natural habitat of animals overshadow its postive side.

Admittedly, looking for resources in untouched natural places will boost the production of oil and gas. This is because these places are undisturbed by humans and can have natural reserves of petroleum and its derivatives which are raw materials for the production of oil and gas. As a result, the growing demand for these energy resources will be fulfilled and a significant portion of the population can afford it owning to reduced prices.

However, it will deteriorate the natural environment of such places. Since humans will perform harmful activities to extract the desired materials , the places will lose its ecological balance. For instance, had humans not exploited natural rainforests of Brazil, it would not have been polluted. As a consequence, environmental problems like global warming will get out of control and it can lead to devastating consequences on mankind.

Moreover, humans will destroy the habitats of animals living in these places to fulfill their demands of energy sources. Its reason is that they will clear forests and alter the conditions that these animals require to survive. Consequently , these animals will become endangered species and will contribute to the loss of biological diversity.

To recapitulate , indubitably, extracting oil and gas from isolated natural places has an upside of boosting its production ; nevertheless , its drawbacks which are disturbing natural environment and disappearance of habitat of animals succeed its advantages.