An increasing number of people now prefer to go shopping in supermarkets rather than small shops and local markets Is this a positive or negative development

Supermarkets are considered as a go-to place for shopping nowadays. Supermarkets have made miscellaneous shopping under one roof possible. On the other side, local shops have noticed a significant drop in their sales due to them. However, this development in the shopping business has more positive impacts than negative ones.

People want to have different options before buying something and supermarkets give people a lot of different shopping options under one roof. People are able to get a lot of different options in terms of product selection. When it comes to buying imported products a vast range of Imported products is easily available at supermarkets. Whereas, local shops don’t sell a lot of imported products. Another big positive supermarket have is that every now and then they are offering discounts on all kinds of products. This means many people are able to buy their desired products at discounted rates. Whereas, local shops do not offer those discounts.

Local shops have been vastly impacted by this shopping trend. When more and more people visit supermarkets over local shops for shopping then the sales of local shops start to dip. Due to the drop in their sales, a lot of local shops are forced to go out of business. When people shop from supermarkets then they are not contributing in terms of building local communities. Which ultimately affects the employees and employers of local shops. Employers are forced to downsize when their business is not prospering.

In a conclusion, supermarkets have been the popular choice of people in recent years. Due to this trend, local shops have suffered when their sales start to decrease.