Many companies sponsor sports as a way of advertising themselves Some people think that it is a good while other think that it has disadvantages Discuss both views and give your opinion

Advertising is considered as a key factor for product promotion. Many companies sponsor sports to expand their brand name in order to increase their revenue. Sponsoring sports as a way of advertising has great advantages, whereas it does have some negative aspects as well.

Sports have been an important part of our lives since our childhood but with the passage of time, the landscape has changed in the sporting world. Many companies sponsor sports to advertise themselves. Whenever a Sports tournament is being organized, the most important aspect is the financing of the tournament. With help of sponsors, sports tournaments get the traction they need in terms of financing. Financial development is also considered to be very important for the sports teams participating in tournaments as well as the sporting bodies themselves. With bigger sponsors like Pepsi, Nike, and Adidas sports teams are able to meet their financial development goals. The same goes for sporting bodies. For example, when the International cricket council organizes a cricket world cup. They will also generate a lot of revenue via sponsors. In the world's top leagues of sports like English premier league or Indian premier league. Sports teams are allowed to buy and sell players to improve their respective squads. Signing top quality players require a lot of financial stability at a sports team. With top sponsors, sports teams are able to enhance their team squads by signing star players. These star players play a very important role in winning trophies. Winning trophies and tournaments helps these teams achieve their season’s targets. These targets include financial development, Winning tournaments, and qualification for different tournaments, etc.

There are some people that think that advertising by way of sports is not good for the sporting world. The big companies have caused a great impact on sports by signing sponsorship deals with bigger teams. These big sponsors have made the sports unfair as the big teams now have more financial freedom and capacity to sign big match players as compared to the smaller teams who do not have the financial liberty to sign these players and if smaller teams were able to sign star names then they are not able to afford their wages. Secondly, the other impact that advertisement via sports has caused is that bigger teams are getting bigger and bigger in terms of their development and their business expansion as they are generating more revenue via sponsor. Whereas the smaller teams who are not able to attract big companies to sponsor them are not able to grow as much which makes the competition unfair.

I personally believe that advertisement via sports is very beneficial for the sporting world. Due to the revenue generated via sponsors, the sports industry is prospering very quickly and sports infrastructure is also improving. Though some negative aspects exist, I still believe it has more positives than negatives.