Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace (e.g. at home, when travelling, etc.).

Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages?

Recent developments in technology has brought many changes in our life today. One of the important question in relation to this is: whether work from home is beneficial or not? I will examine all the dimensions of this topic and conclude my opinion by the end.

Technology has enabled our life easier. There are people who believe that work from home is better than working in the office. One of the main reason is saving commute time, as it offers the opportunity to the individual, which allows them to work online and save their time of daily commute. Moreover, it also allows flexibility of time and place to the employee, since an employee do not have to be in a professional environment and the employee also gets the relief from physical tireness by getting small breaks.

Although, there are people who oppose the idea of work from home. One of the reasons is performance degradation, because office enviornment promotes competent behaviour which boosts employee moral and results in high performance. For instance, a recent survey by “The Tribune” in India states that work from home has resulted in dramatic decrease of employee performance by 55% in all the work places. In addition, downfall of socializations is anothe reason, as people tend to spend most of their time at home which does not allow the employee built social network atbtheir work place, eventually resuts in lack of socialization.

After analysing the most pertinent points of this issue, I have drawn to the conclusion that disadvantages of work from home such as, degradation in performance and lack in socialization affects work place professionalism, outweighs the advantages like, saving time of daily commute and physical fatigue by working from home. Hence, I believe that work from home is not beneficial for professinal growth of an individual.