International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment.

Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

It is a fact that international tourism has already become a popular and huge industry these days, and many towns and cities have taken the benefits of it. However, some people worry that the activity might have a negative effect on the local communities. The following essay will discuss advantages and disadvantages of international tourism. However, I believe that it has more benefits than the drawbacks.

On the one hand, some people think that international tourism activities bring some disadvantages for the local societies. The main reason is that they are afraid that the local environment would be distracted as more and more people come to the place. For example, Mount Everest is one of the top destinations for international travellers, but it is reported that the amount of garbage that tourists produce has increased rapidly in the past few years. Consequently, it might have a catastrophic effect on the local environment there. Another reason is that tourists would bring some negative cultures to the local people. For instance, some western people like to drink the alcoholic beverage, and elders of the local societies are afraid that the local people would also be interested in drinking those liquors. Finally, the treat of the terrorist attack is another negative aspect of international tourism according to many.

On the other hand, many people believe that travelling abroad for leisure activities would bring a lot of benefits for the destination places. Firstly, it creates a lot of job opportunities for the local people as some of them could become tour guides or can run small businesses. Secondly, when foreign travellers come to a country, they will spend their money for various activities. It means that they will also bring revenue to the local government in the form of tax. As a result, the government would have enough budgets for maintaining the public facilities around the places and the local environment as well. Lastly, it also attracts investors in building resorts and hotels in the surrounding areas. The development of these places will absorb many employments not only from the local area but from other cities and countries as well.

In conclusion, despite its negative effects, I personally believe that global tourism industries would bring more benefits to the local inhabitants and communities. It boosts the economic condition of the country and creates job opportunities for the local people. As for the negative effects, it really depends on how the government would make clear regulations and implement them.