International tourism is now more common than ever before. Some feel that this is a positive trend, while others do not. What are your opinions on this?
The past 50 years have seen a considerable increase in global tourism. Despite the undeniable
economic prosperity it has brought to many host countries, I would argue that the overall
impact of international holiday making has in fact been negative. Two of the primary drawbacks
associated with this trend are as follows.
First of all, global tourism tends to export many negative aspects of western culture. Since it is
only the wealthy who can afford to travel abroad, developing countries like Thailand and
Indonesia have become the playgrounds of tourists from more affluent ones. In many such
nations, this influx of mainly western tourists has brought with it problems such as prostitution
as well as alcoholism and drug abuse. Admittedly, international tourism does have the potential
to foster greater understanding and tolerance between people of different cultures. However,
this is unlikely to occur while it remains such a potent symbol of western cultural domination
and moral decadence.
Even more disturbing, though, is the environmental degradation that international tourism has
caused in many parts of the world. One particularly salient example of this is Great Barrier Reef
in Australia – the countless boats, divers and snorkellers that have visited the reef over the past
few decades have gradually destroyed vast sections of coral. Similarly, world renowned Kuta
Beach in Bali has become heavily polluted in recent years. In order to be sustainable, greater
regulation of global tourism is required.
In conclusion, the challenges presented by the booming international tourist industry are
numerous and complex. Although they are by no means insurmountable, it is highly unlikely
that they will be resolved in the foreseeable future.