International travel is becoming cheaper and cheaper, and more countries are now opening their doors to foreign visitors. Do you think that the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

The cost of travelling overseas is being gradually reasonably priced, manifold countries in the world in many recent years are pleased to welcome foreign visitors. While there are some advantages of this trend, I would argue that its disadvantages outweigh the advantages.

On the one hand, the trend of travelling abroad has some undeniable perks. Firstly, when people have more chances to explore the world, particularly go country hopping, their horizons could be broadened considerably. The more countries we visit, the much knowledge we gain, and the perspectives of travellers toward life would be partly captivating than whose can’t afford to go discovering the world. Moreover, travelling has a symbiotic relationship with economy. The number of visitors going up sharply has affected positively on economy by holding many job opportunities for local residents such as cooks in restaurants or receptionists in hotels.

On the other hand, I believe that there are great drawbacks of this development. The first one is environmental pollution. It is clear that for many recent years, not only air pollution and water pollution, noise has been polluted alarmingly, which is caused majorly by the dramatic increase in the number of overseas tourists all over the world. China is the most eloquent assertion for this drawback, according to research conducted in the USA, the level of air pollution in China is highest in the past few years, which harms severely Chinese health. Secondly, natural habitats are damaged tremendously by visitors’ activities. For example, one of the most famous cities in Viet Nam, Da Lat is renowned for breathtaking sceneries and attracts hundred thousands of visitors annually. After every the height of the tourist season, flower parks and pine forests there may suffer habitat destruction due to tourists’ low awareness.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the disadvantages of people being able to afford holidays overseas outweigh its advantages.