It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Taking a year off is a recent trend preferred by students going to university after completing schools. Students can earn money and gain experience from doing paid work at home or abroad but there are certain drawbacks to be taken into account.

Firstly, one of the benefits of taking a gap year is that students can generate extra income. This teaches them to understand the value of money and not to waste it as they are required to work in order to earn. It is one of the most valuable lessons in life. Secondly, having a year off means students can travel abroad and gain new experience. Some students, for instance, prefer to work in developing countries for NGO where they work as a volunteer to help and support needy people and sometimes even teach a language. Thirdly, working and traveling during gap year teaches them to be independent and responsible. This skills later develop them into self-supporting individual ready to enter the workforce.

On the other hand, one problem when students go for a year off is that they might forget the concept learned at school which is necessary for certain subjects like engineering or medicine. For instance, some universities have their own entrance exam to gain admission and students might not do well in such an exam because of a gap year. As a result, they might have to opt for foundation year which could additionally take one year. Another possible issue is that traveling during gap year to developing countries could be risky as their family would be not around for help in a dangerous situation. This can lead to a serious problem when medical attention is required. It becomes difficult to seek medical help while abroad.

In conclusion, while students can gain work experience from a gap year, it can also lead to lower grades or difficulties in seeking medical help while abroad.