It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

The trend of taking a year off between completing school education and joining university is increasing these days. While it provides an advantage of ample time for refreshing oneself and learning important skills, it could also lead to a mere waste of precious time.

On the one hand, a year off between finishing school and going to a university has several merits. To commence with, it provides students time to relax and rejuvenate themselves after toiling hard to get good marks in high school. Moreover, this time can be utilized by them for learning skills such as a foreign language, driving a car and preparing for competitive exams. For instance, 80 percent of the students who clear entrance exam for engineering are one-year droppers. These kids spend an entire year on studying and making them capable of cracking such exams. Also, kids prefer volunteering for charity work in this free one year period. Thus, a time span of twelve months can certainly have many benefits if planned properly.

On the other hand, there are some disadvantages of having a gap of one year in between high school and university study. Firstly, most students ends up wasting this entire time doing nothing. In fact, they even forget the concepts they had learned in the school and thus are made to double their efforts while pursuing tertiary study. Furthermore, some children who start working may lose their interest in studies and find it difficult to follow the academic timetable later. For instance, a student doing a job might think of never going to university again. So, the trend of year gap can have long lasting negative effects on the children.

In conclusion, a year's time off before pursuing tertiary education has advantages of better opportunities to learning and gaining experience. However, lack of proper planning can end up in the wastage of this valuable time.