It is better for students at university to live far away from home that to live at home with their parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is a well known saying that , “ Prevention is better than cure.” The increasing health hazards especially due to the contaminated food and water in the university hostels is forcing parents to think- if home is the better option for residing rather than moving to the hostel. According to me staying at home is much better as it provides a good environment and friends when compared to hostels.

Obviously, good health must be the priority between any of the two choices. Daily we come across the news stating about the increasing number of death ratio amongst the university students staying in hostels. A recent survey done by the renowned institute ‘Post graduate institute of medical research’ was published in “The hinustan times” newspaper on 25th March 2018. It stated that twenty five percent of the medical students showed deteriorating health in the last two years of their hostel life. It was possibly because of their poor hygeine. They became more obese and weak when compared to the day scholars

Moreover, staying at home provides an opportunity to deepen the parent-child relationship. It has been observed that the gap between the parents and their wards is increasing these days. There are lot of reasons amongst which the widening distance between the family members can't be ignored. Daily coming back to home after college increases the bond of attachment between the family members, consequently focussing the concept of joint family. This can ultimately lead to happy and positive environment in ones home.

Moreover, parents are the only ones, with whom we can discuss our each and every problem. They act as building blocks in our career by sacrificing their own lifes.They can act as our friends with no benefits. Comparing it with the hostels where ragging and bullying is done by the seniors, one must choose to live in the student friendly atmosphere which is more obvious under parents observation.

In gist, i would like to conclude that living within the family is a much better choice rather than the university hostles. It has lot of advantages like- better atmosphere and health, which are hard to find and enjoy in the hostel life.