It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Education is likely to be the most important thing to be learnt by every child and that education is not restricted in academic lessons only but also in behaviour field as well. Most people think that young children should be taught about attitude at an early age and a punishment is required in some cases to complete this education. I certainly believe that some punishment for the betterment of the children should be allowed which I will brief in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, it seems that teaching good behaviour and virtues, when children are still in young ages, will be easier both by parents and teachers. Moreover, if this lesson is followed by an appropriate penalty, they will fear and think twice before breaking the applied rules. Research carried out by Statistics Center in Semarang shows that the plenty of youngsters are easier to have a good manner if they got this lesson before they reach their maturity. In addition, if the youngsters know that they will be rebuked and punished if they commit bad actions, they will usually stay away from committing mischievous acts. This research makes clear that a lesson followed by convenience punishments at an early age is likely to be a wise idea to create the youngest being a good member of the society.

However, the punishment should always bet to teach a lesson not to intimidate a child. The teachers and parents should always think about alternative ways before imposing any punishment to a child. If the child commits the same abominable act several times, then a minor punishment to teach a lesson should be given. A severe punishment by a teacher or parents could psychologically damage a child and the teachers and parents should always be careful about their way of punishment. Sometimes taking away a favourite toy from a child can be an effective punishment where no physical punishment is required. The teacher and parents should keep in mind that the main purpose of the punishment if to teach the child a lesson not to hurt him physically.

After hashing out the issue, it can be concluded that a lesson to have good manner should be taught as early as possible and the effective punishment like rebuking or taking away favourite toys.