It is sometimes suggested that primary schoolchildren should learn how to grow vegetables and keep animals.

Do you think that the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is advised by a vast section of the society that the pupils at the primary school learn about farming and keeping animals.

Although, it has certain manageable disadvantages, in my discourse ahead, this essay will enunciate on the ideas in favor of my

belief that the merits of this suggestion has more impactful merits than minor demerits.

To begin with, learning a practical skill of growing vegetables and keeping animals has some significant advantages. First and foremost merit is that

the pupils develop the basic understanding of farming from primary level only. If they have interest in it, this would provide them numerous career

opportunities in the evergreen agriculture industry in the later part of life. Moreover, keeping animals not only inculcates morals and values of life such as caring and honesty but also helps to understand the significant importance of animals as a part of ecosystem and the society. For an example, as per report in the New York Times in July,2019, the school-going children learn a lot about honesty by keeping pet animals such as cats and dogs.

Despite the advantages highlighted above, there are certain disadvantages of learning about growing vegetables and keeping animals which should not

be ignored. If children learn this in their primary school, it may be possibility that they would not get enough time to concentrate in their academic subjects. This may deviate students from basic education which would hamper their academic growth. However, this can be easily managed by proper time management. For an instance, in the the United Kingdom, all pupils learn about plantation as a part of their curriculum without affecting their theoretical subjects.

In conclusion, there undeniably are some demerits of learning about growing plants and keeping animals as outlined above, I strongly believe that

this advice has more and impactful positives about inculcating morals and other skills which certainly have positive impact in later part of life.