It is too expensive to look after and repair old buildings. This money should be spent on building modern buildings instead.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been a matter of intense debate for quite some time now as to what should be done with the old building. It is asserted by some people that maintenance of ancient and historical buildings requires a huge amount of money hence, instead of wasting that money on outdated building new should be constructed. In my opinion, the old buildings should be preserved and maintained.

There are a lot of benefits to preserving old historical art and ancient history. To begin with, first and foremost it, they signify the magnificent history and culture of ancient society. For instance, the Ajanta and Ellora cave of India is the biggest example of the preservation of historical culture. These ancient monuments also help in boosting tourism in the region hence, it is required to maintain them in a proper manner so they might not lose their busy. Secondly, they create lots of employment opportunities for local and other which means that they help in the eradication of the most prevailing problem that is unemployment. Therefore, if there would be better employment opportunities then people can easily participate in the economic growth of the country.

The other advantages of saving these old buildings are they can be used for other purposes if cannot be utilized as a tourist place. For instance, the king palace of Faridkot has been converted into a big hospital, the Umedh Bhawan in Rajasthan has been transformed as the hotel which helps in generating revenue for the state government. Hence, they generate double revenue that their maintenance cost.

To conclude, preservation of the historical building not only enhance the tourism of the country but also help in generating employment and also accelerate economic growth.