Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products.

What problems does it cause?

What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

Two days ago, I read an article about the influence of big enterprises on the local market. The author states that both promotion and advertisement, which are widely used by corporations, affect the preferences in shopping. This essay will consider the problems of this change and suggest steps to stimulate people to purchase domestic goods.

The first problem is the pressure on domestic companies. When a corporation opens its branches in the region, many individual entrepeneurs start to suffer from the unequal competition with it since they have insufficient finding either to introduce themselves in the media nor hold any promotions. Another problem with the entry of corporations in the area is growing prices. Once the dominance in the market is reached by various advertising campaigns, large businesses tend to gradually increase the prices for their products. The last problem is a narrow range of products available. As soon as corporations prevail in the market, they hinder the entry of other companies into the market. As a result, people can neither enjoy other high-quality products devised by other companies nor do shopping at a lower price.

One of the measures to arouse public interest in buying local products is for the government to introduce them to the market. Generally, it is hardly possible to find the information about domestic producers on TV and radio, since they do not have as much budget for advertisement as corporations. Despite this, if the government supported them by freely allocating a time to advertise local products on the state channels, they would have the opportunity to present their local products to the public. Consequently, domestic manufacturers would be familiar to society and, therefore, be able to compete with large businesses. Furthermore, the state could both subsidize local manufacturers and exempt them from some taxes, so they would be able to lower their prices and expand their production.

In conclusion, even though large companies pose many problems to the local market, the government could raise public awareness of local products by showing their local products in the media and assist internal manufacturers financially.