Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages If these are not taught many are at risk of dying out In your opinion is it important for everyone to learn English Should we try to ensure the survival of local

Nowadays, English has become a prominent language in the world, most of the countries are adopting it as their business language. However, because of this people are rarely using their native languages. From my point of view, learning English certainly is an advantage, but countries must take measures to save their national languages. This essay will elaborate on the facts to support the stated view.

For instance, with the globalization, English has become a global language, countless companies are opening their headquarters in Non-English speaking countries, hence it is imperative for local people to be proficient in the language so they can secure highly paid jobs in these companies. In addition, most of the powerful nations such as the United State, United Kingdom, and Canada are English speaking countries, to trade and compete with them it is essential to learn English. Also, people are migrating to other countries in search of better job opportunities and a good quality of life. Hence to survive there and make a living, people are paying more attention to English. Moreover, people who can speak English, it is easier for them to communicate with people of other cultures, thus it promotes cultural awareness and congeniality among them.

However, due to emphasis on learning English, schools, and colleges are ignoring local and regional languages, the government should ensure that the local languages are part of the curriculum. Students should be provided with the options to select the regional or national language during the highschool along with English. Additionally, the government officials should invent policies and schemes to protect and preserve endangered local languages, for example, in India the government has declared a week in a year in which all official work will be conducted in national language Hindi. Also, parents should encourage their children to speak their mother tongue at home. Further, authorities should support local cinema and theaters, besides this, they can arrange local language festivals and concerts to keep the local language and culture alive.

To recapitulate, even though English is a universal language, more people are fascinated with it due to its culture and sophistication, the local languages should be retained to enforce diversity in the world. By creating a balance, people can learn English and also can relate to their local culture.