Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, people migrate to different countries to work and study, however, living in a country where you have to interact in a language other than yours, which can cause inevitable problems related to social and practical. In my opinion, I agree that being in the different country bring language barrier in communication, understanding culture and expressing thoughts.

On the one hand, a conversation between people is the key to social life and learn about their culture. In other words, living in a foreign nation, it is essential to talk in the native language to communicate with local communities and to understand their lifestyles. For example, if a person from a Western English country goes to an Asian country, for instance, India, where English is not a native tongue, that person faces an obstacle to corresponding to local people and educate about Indian traditions.

On the other hand, the linguistic barrier causes a massive effect on working or studying. If a person is not a native speaker, it might be difficult to express their concepts with co-workers, college mates or clients. For instance, an American person in India working as a marketing director may have the challenge to determine marketing strategy to non-English speaking customers.

In conclusion, it might be difficult to communicate, work, and study in a foreign country because of the language issue, however, to overcome such problems learning a foreign language can be a solution.