A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly.Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that ben

The tourism industry has seen an upward growth in recent years. Although there are numerous pros of tourism, there are few drawbacks associated with it as well. I believe that the merits over cedes the demerits of tourism which will be explained further in the ensuing paragraphs.

The foremost benefit of tourism is the ample amount of revenue generation of an economy. This not only raises the standard of living of locals but also creates numerous employment opportunities. As per a survey conducted by the government in 2017, it was revealed that tourism contributes to 30 per cent of employment in India and is one of the major contributors to GDP growth. Thus, it would be correct to address tourism as an emerging key factor of national economic growth.

The other significant positive aspect of tourism is that it provides recognition to a country at international platforms. Because of this, the trade relationships among countries get highly improved and eventually, leads to the booming development of a nation. To illustrate, it is because of the pyramids of Egypt that people acknowledge its presence internationally while at the same time, there are many countries like Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan which are still unknown globally. So, tourism can act as a catalyst for a country to get international fame.

Despite the above advantages, tourism also poses some challenges to the government of a country. To start with, it puts all historical and natural places at the risk of exploitation from the crowd. This is because the tourists create huge waste and even damage the sites by scribbling on the walls of the monuments. Also, commercialization of a place spikes up the prices of daily basis commodities and it puts heavy pressure on the pocket of local residents.

Thus, to conclude the topic, I would like to put forward my opinion that the setbacks of tourism can be overcome with the right supervision and regulations in place and hence, tourism is more beneficial owing to the profit and its international reach.