In many cities, security measures, such as the use of video cameras in public places, are being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom.

Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Along with other fears such as pollution and overpopulation, it is undeniable that urban areas are now highly vulnerable to huge episodes of crime for the last two-three decades.

In this regard, many are of the belief that installing CCTV cameras in public places controls an individual's liberty. There are both merits and demerits of such a phenomenon. If questioned, in my opinion, the drawbacks outstrips its benefits. Both segments are discussed further with suitable examples.

Referring to the rewards of video cameras, the biggest one is that it enhances the safety of the public. It is quite evidential that whether you are shopping, clubbing or traveling, surveillance cameras help you stay safe. These cameras consistently keep an eye on illegal activities and record any crime that occurs. Additionally, it reinforces the trust of citizens in the government and their services. Another prominent gain of this approach is that it alleviates crime rates. This is because an individual is aware he/she is constantly monitored, thus, they are less likely to indulge in a criminal act. Besides this, this technology help to gather evidence and clues. In other words, if in case a crime occurs the CCTV cameras' footage could be produced in a court of law as evidence.

Discussing the impediments of fitting cameras in public space. The foremost intimidating factor that could be put forth is such a method is exceedingly risky for famous people such as celebrities, politicians and many more. This is to say, it is largely feared that sometimes the videos or data are used for harassment and blackmailing. To illustrate this, if any public figure visits to any hotel any opposing party may either disclose the video or blackmail them to pacify their grudge. Thus, such people lose their freedom to roam around freely. Moreover, it is indeed true that such arrangements are not suitable for places such as parlors and salons. This deters people to visit such places where the personal services are taken.

Thus, to conclude and it can be explicitly inferred that despite some minimal limitations of CCTV cameras, the brighter sides of CCTV cameras subjugate it. As it is functional to keep country and individuals safe and out of any misconduct. Also, the risks involved in personal freedom is not much grave. I believe this method must be encouraged even in remote areas.