Many cities in the world are facing issues due to traffic congestion. Why is this happening? What can be done to improve the situation? Give reasons for your answers and include examples from your experience, related to your country.

It is observed that metropolitan cities in the globe have been facing problems owing to ever-increasing traffic jam since last decade. In my discourse ahead, this essay will outline reasons of this trend and suggest plausible solution to improve the condition effectively.

To begin with, increased number of vehicles on the road is one of the chief reason why issues have raised due to heavy traffic. This means to say that nowadays people become enough affordable to purchase cars as the vehicle loans are easily available at lower interest rates. A good case in point can be a recent report of the Economic Times has stated that lucrative offers of reduced interest rates during Christmas celebration in Canada has surged sales of four wheelers by 14% compared to ordinary months. Another noteworthy cause of it is unreliability of public transportation in many places. To be more precise, frequency and safety are major challenges when thinking about public buses. Consequently, private vehicles are preferred which has increased traffic congestion in many metro cities.

However, despite the causes of increased traffic highlighted above, certain pivotal measures could improve this pressing issue. Firstly, if government increases the interest rate on vehicle loan, landing price of cars will be certainly increased, and this would make it impossible for some people to buy new cars. Secondly, the authorities should improve quality and frequency of public transportation which would change people's preference to use buses or trains for routine commuting. Seen in this light, it clearly possible to reduce traffic problems.

In conclusion, although traffic congestions has lead to many burning issues in some cities, if aforementioned steps are taken, the situation will surely improve in the coming years.