In many countries around the world, life expectancy is increasing. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation and give your opinion. –Reasons –Examples

Medical care over the past century has improved dramatically; consequently, the world's population is increasingly living long into old age. I firmly believe that despite this development’s drawbacks, its positive impact is undoubtedly certain.

One obvious issue with an ageing population is that it can create enormous demands on a nation's health service. As people live longer into their old age, the chances of them suffering from serious illnesses often increase. As a result, the likelihood of them requiring medical treatment becomes higher, and it becomes more difficult to provide care for everyone. A further downside is that living longer does not necessarily bring happiness because an older person is more likely to be unable to do many of the activities that they want to do; therefore, this can lead to the likelihood of depression and deterioration in their physical health.

Nevertheless, one obvious benefit of people living longer is that younger people can benefit for a longer time from the wisdom handed down to them by the older members of their families. In today's fast paced world, it is often comforting to seek advice from older generations regardless of their physical health because the children and grandchildren will benefit from the experience of the mind. What is more, retired people today are generally much healthier than they have ever been, and often enjoy their lives more than they did when they were young. They have the best of both worlds: a family that can care for and look up to them, and better health than at any time in human history.

Weighing up both sides of the argument again, in my view, even though there are a number of problems that old age brings, predominantly health related, the benefits that it brings to the family unit and to society as a whole are indispensable.