In many countries the level of crime is increasing and crimes are becoming more violent. Why do you think this is and what can be done about it ?

It is a painful truth that crime rate is shooting up in most of the countries in the recent past. There are many reasons like unemployment, social insecurities, greed, illiteracy, emotional imbalance and etc which can be considered as the major reasons for crime. However, every individual case has a particular reason.

Some sections of society are of the opinion that the law is not strict enough to imbibe fear in the spines of potential criminals and hence crime is increasing. Though it is true to some extent, I feel the role of government in this is very minor. To curb crime, rather than concentrating on punishments in law we need to focus on the root causes of crime and eliminate it completely. Parents, teachers should keep an eye on adolescences and mold them as good human-beings thus saving them from evil. Youth should be provided awareness on illegal activities like consuming drugs, involving in robberies, cyber-crime, and etc and hence save them from such crimes.

My views on this topic are strengthened by a few personal experiences in life. One of my acquaintances in school dropped out due to financial issues. Later on I found him snatching a chain from a pedestrian in the local market. I identified him and went to a nearby police station to file a complaint against him. The cops told me that he is a drug addict and thief. During tender age he lacked proper care and hence fell prey for the local drug mafia and evolved as a criminal finally. This clearly explains the point that i am trying to make.

From the elaborate discussions in the paragraphs above it undoubtedly states that society particularly parents, teachers and mentors along with few measures by the government like including much firm laws we will be able to control crime.