In many countries, paying for more things using mobile phone apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages

As more merchants offer customers the option to pay through cell phone applications at the point of sale, mobile payment via digital wallets is becoming increasingly prevalent. This essay argues that despite the main disadvantage of this trend is the lack of a universal software application, mobile wallets reap more benefits as they offer unprecedented convenience of making payments to purchase things.

To commence with, paying for things has never been more convenient than using a mobile payment system. In simple words, people can carry out cash transactions to merchants without carrying hard cash or cards. For instance, payment apps like Apple Pay, Android Pay, and Google Pay are particularly popular apps, which consumers use on a daily basis to make their payment whenever they purchase something. Moreover, cell phone payment applications offer an extra layer of biometric authentication like a fingerprint scan or facial recognition, helping businesses in ensuring payments are not fraudulent. Finally, most mobile payment applications are tokenized during transactions, which mean that sensitive account information is replaced by token so that fraudsters cannot use it if hacked during payment sessions, enhancing security for both customers and businesses.

However, some believe that the drawback to mobile payment apps is that not all businesses accept this payment method. Moreover, even if they accept it, they do not support all kinds of mobile payment applications. As a result, people still need to carry cash or cards and cannot use mobile payment in all shops or online stores. Put simply, an outlet may accept digital payments, but it does not accept all of them. A case in point is Walmart Pay. Walmart accepts digital payments, but only from its own Walmart Pay application. Besides, mobile network and internet connectivity are other major impediments to digital payments. To put it another way, you must have a good internet connection and updated mobile network infrastructure so as to process mobile payments. Furthermore, digital payments make some people worried about their privacy. This is because each transaction leaves a digital record. Although the records are not posted publicly, there is a constant fear of hackers.

To conclude, the abovementioned arguments make it clear that although cell phone payment apps have some limitations, the overall benefits of mobile wallets clearly outweigh the drawbacks.