Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other sorts of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the recent few decades, it is believed that the economy had has drastically impacted the development of the nation, hence, many governments propound that economic progress is the most necessary purpose. Nonetheless, others assert that many other kinds of progress are equally crucial. I will discuss both the views and state my viewpoint in the end.

To begin with, the growth of the economy is indeed indispensable for countries. Economic stability provides a plethora of advantages such as adequate health services, high salaries, and a better quality of life. Therefore, in other words, economic growth can enhance the country’s position in the world. For instance, Brazil government has imposed lots of policies on economic development. As a consequence, the quality of in Brazil has noticeably improved, which tends to created new job opportunities for the people to raise their standard of living. Furthermore, Brazil is ranked among the major world powers Russia, India, China, and South Africa.

On the flip side, the development of the nation does not completely rely on economic development. Moreover, development in only one phase will definitely create the problem in others. For instance, human activities and the industrial revolution have significant repercussions on our lives such as overpopulation, environmental degradation, and homelessness. For example, the lot of deforestation in Brazil has led to a change in the ecosystem of the Amazon forest and resulted in a tremendous increase in forest fires. It has adversely impacted the oxygen level and decreased it by 10-15% which is a considerable amount and resulted in increasing the mortality of people. Hence, the government should contemplate other kinds of progress also such as medical, education security and defense for the overall growth of the country in a sustainable way as all the aspects are equally important.

To conclude, I believe economic growth is important but cannot be considered alone as a marker for the whole nation, instead the government should treat other aspects with equal importance such as education, health, and defense.