Many governments in the world spend large amounts of money on art
which helps to develop quality in people’s lives. However, governments should
spend money on other things rather than art.
Do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion.
Experts throughout both the developing and developed world have debated where to invest
funds more efficiently for the people’s good. Some believe that art have higher priority,
personally I strongly believe that the fight with poverty, educational and scientific areas are
more vital for a society. This essay will compare both points of view using a variety of
examples to demonstrate points and prove arguments.
On the one hand there is ample evidence that by increasing expenditures to poetry, arts or
cinema shell increase the overall level of culture. The central reason behind this is twofold,
firstly if a child watched lots of love movies and read stories about friendship, he or she
would have higher chances to grow up as a decent citizen. Secondly, propaganda of proper
behavior might diminish the juvenile delinquency in the streets. For example, recent
empirical research by the US police demonstrated that the majority of all young lawbreakers
did not have access to the proper source of culture. Therefore it is conclusively clear that art
has some influence at least on young children.
On the other hand although there is a case for artists, actors and script writers enriching
society, the impact of scientists and teachers cannot be overstated. This is largely because
each dollar invested in education might improve the situation in general. For instance, the
recent developments in genetic could double the production of crops. As a result the mass
production of food is able to reduce the overall poverty and therefore improve the lives of
million people. In addition it is important to mention that scientists are the product of the
educational system. Thus it is possible to state beyond doubt that educational and scientific
areas have a tremendous impact on a society.
From the arguments and examples given I firmly believe that although the art creators
influence our lives, the role of intellectual approach is much more practical, it is felt on a
daily basis, and therefore its impact is considerably greater. It is predicted that the role of
knowledge will increasingly grow in importance.