In many parts of the world and throughout history, government have moved their capitals.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this and say wether you would be in favour of moving your capital.

It is not a new phenomenon in history to see government of nations across the world moving locations of their capitals. Reasons can be due to overpopulation, security, economic benefits and to foster unity. However, these movements can cause neglect in other regions, lack of government commitment to urban planning and confusion. In the light of this states advantages and disadvantages, I believe I would be in favour of moving my country's capital.

The most beneficial reason presented throughout history for the movement of a nation's capital is overpopulation. Due to the presence of headquarters of government institutions in capital cities, there's usually a blow up of population leading to congestion and less security. An example is Nigeria whose former capital was Lagos State. Secondly, Economic shift is another reason for the move of a country's capital. The country Brazil is a typical example, here the nation's capital was moved to Rio De Janeiro due to the shift from sugar trade to gold mining. Thirdly, in a multiethnic country like Nigeria, there is need for the country's capital to be in an ethnic neutral site to foster peace and unity.

Despite the benefits of moving a nation's capital, the downsides calls for a major concern. While there is a development of the new capital city, there might be neglect of other regions in the country. A case study is seen in Nigeria's capital city Abuja, while other states lack necessary infrastructure. Furthermore, the lack of commitment to urban planning and policies would lead to possible congestion of the new capital city. Lastly, movement of capital cities create a form of confusion both for the young, old and tourists visiting the country at the period.

With the stated upside and downsides, I would be in favour of moving a nation's capital city if it would serve to protect the peace and security of the country. However, it is necessary for the government to create a balance in the development of all regions.