Many people believe that countries should produce food for all population eats and import food as little as possible To what extent do you agree or disagree

Since the advent of globalization almost every country was able to import and export foods across the borders. Some people advocate that countries should minimize the food import and concentrate on producing more indigenous food products that serve their citizens. I, however, disagree with the statement and will outline the reasons in detail in this essay.

The primary reason behind my disagreement is that the fertility of land is not equally distributed across the world. Some countries like Saudi Arabia, have barren land which is not suitable for growing essential food products. If the government of such countries decide to minimize the import of foods, their citizens would be adversely affected. On the other hand, countries like India and China have more fertile land and hence, could export more food products to other countries which would contribute significantly to their economy. Indeed, if other countries reduce their import from these countries, the economy of these exporting countries would be greatly affected.

Another reason is that people should have access to variety of foods across the world. Any government should not interfere in the food preference of its citizens. Some people would be interested in having native food products such as rice and pulses, while others would prefer international cuisines like Pizzas and Pastas. If governments decrease their import of western foods from other countries, these people would be left with no other option than consuming those indigenous cuisines. This would impact the democratic policy of freedom of choice of these citizens. Hence, governments should not lessen their import of international food products.

In conclusion, not all countries possess equally fertile land and hence, reducing the import of food products would have devastating effects on both the importing and the exporting countries. In addition to this, every citizen has different food preference and governments should not interfere on it.