Many people believe that having a fixed punishment for all crimes is more efficient .What are the advantages and disadvantage of having a fixed punishment?

Over the years,human beings has fought for the people who committed crimes. Some people believe that it is an efficient way to punish the people who carry out a crime by fixed punishment. However,there are both pros and cons to deciding to do this. In this essay, I will discuss some of the reasons why fixed punishment is so morally right and some of the challenges will be overcome.

Let's begin by looking at the advantages of having a fixed punishment. One of the main positives of a fixed retribution together other criminals is that it makes them warned. What I mean by this is that there is an invariable law which can punish all kinds of crime even it is petty or felony crime.

Secondly ,an equal punishment can lead the criminals to reduce crime as soon as they released from prison. According to crime statistics thousands of people who carry out a crime stop committing it as they may have more terrible crime than they have done before because of having a fixed punishment again.

Turning to the other side of the argument, dealing with other criminals is a major problem. Many criminals who committed petty crimes such as shoplifters and fraudsters are not actually a dangerous to society. They should have less punishment from murders,rapists and violent criminals. What's more , petty criminals may even learn how to commit more serious crimes when they have fixed punishment.

Another issue is that it can easy to being more serious criminals for the people who are less dangerous to society. In other words, when they are outside they may have more terrible crime than they have done before because of having a fixed punishment.

All these considered,having a fixed punishment is not efficient. Although,there are good sides of warning and stopping committing crime and drawbacks of learning and carrying out serious crimes,I strongly believe that negatives of having a fixed punishment eventually outweigh any positives.