Many people prefer to spend money and not save it. What are the reasons? Is this positive or negative development?

In today’s world all level of people are tempted to spend money frivolously like a drunken sailor. Although, every human chasing the almighty dollar for a precious living but , they don’t spend cautiously on acquired goods and services or based on their needs and requirements. Modern lifestyle has made every individual to have a craze on trying new expensive products that arrives new on the market. Relatively, they find ways to make money by taking part -time jobs to fulfill their quench their desire to spend from their earnings despite of saving for the rainy day.

Comparatively, Indians are good at savings and most of them are a miser. Therefore, Indians save for financial security reasons for their future unlike, westerners lack behind on savings.For example, a 2017 survey of more than 8,000 adults found that 57 percent have less than $1,000 in a savings account. Included in that percentage is the 39 percent of Americans with absolutely nothing in a savings account.This fact is even more alarming when combined with data on long-term savings—nearly half of people age 55 and older have no retirement savings at all, other than Social Security.

When it comes to why people tend to spend more rather than save for future, excuses are boundless. Mostly, Some will say that they don’t make enough money to save – which is acceptable if true. Others cant stop spending money as according to them, life is so uncertain and therefore its better to live for today and deal with future… in future.On the other hand, there are many who save a lot. At times, they end up saving a little too much. Result? They have big bank balances or portfolios. But sadly, they are unable to enjoy their lives optimally.

On the whole, people need to adapt to the habit of saving money for the future by planning their budget and following a strict method of eliminating unnecessary expenses. Like save a ‘lunch money’ or ‘try frugality ‘. One has to realize saving money makes a person financially independent and Keeps him away from the worries of future development. Even though people depend on the saying ‘ live today ‘ which absolutely is a short -sighted phenomena to face adversity anytime. In fact, saving for near future would give one a quality of life and peace of mind which is a positive development rather than just living this moment.