Many people prefer to spend money and not save it. What are the reasons? Is this a positive or negative development?

In this over expensive era, many of us are interested in using up our credits, instead of making an investment or saving out of that money. This essay will touch base upon the reasons for this trend and will also conclude, why this habit is negatively impacting our lives, with the help of examples.

Spending on unnecessary commodities and efforts to match high society standards are two, out the countless reasons behind overspending. Starting with unnecessary expenditures, for example, buying stuff that we don't need and calling ourselves 'Shopaholic', are helping ourselves to adapt to spending rather than saving. Furthermore, most of us tend to match with others in many aspects, living standards of others, cars owned by others we know. In this social competition, we end up losing all our savings to afford other luxuries that are not even inevitable.

Moving forward to the positivity, this spending habit can add to our lifestyle. Being able to afford the items we like, can plant happiness inside us and ultimately, this happiness will help in daily routine to appear more appealing to the society. To add a personal experience here, I am comparetively happier on the day I shop. However, number of positive impacts of this development are limited.

On the other hand, side-effects of this trend are large in number and have severe after-effects on life. Losing all the credit, by spending without any investment or saving, will put us in a state of financial insecurity. Back in 2015, when I spent all my savings on buying a new CAR for myself, I was left with no money for my professional certification and had to borrow from a friend. Additionally, saving is a 'must do' for better future. 'Savings in young age are helping hands when you are old.' - An article read. Lastly, for any health emergency, one must have an adequate amount of money in his bank account, which can be utilised in any unforeseen emergency situations.

In the end, it can be stated that, a part of population likes to spend instead of saving, what they earn but keeping in mind various side effects of this habit, I am of the opinion that this is a negative development and it contributes immensely to financially insecurities in life.