Many schools today require students to work without pay for companies as part of their education.

Is this more advantageous to students or companies?

Nowadays, almost in all schools students are require to work for unpaid internships for many companies as part of their education. Although companies will get benefits, but students will get more advantages from unpaid internships.

On the one hand, companies will get an extra employee without giving salary. The most important cost that is increasing to run a business is the cost of employees. Students that are willing to work for free in order to gain experience, companies can cover their recurring cost. Moreover, workload will also reduced among current staffs. For example working in a Walmart, students can learn stocking the shelves, packaging the items, and even handling cash counters, such work require very less training and because of this companies can save a few amount of money as well.

Nonetheless, students will get a host of benefits while working as an intern. Though students will not get any payment for their hard work, however, they will acquire an important management skills like working in a team, organization, maintaining work-life balance and an experience in working in corporate environment. Additionally, companies prefer to hire the same intern instead of hiring a new employee, with this students can get a permanent job in the same company since they are experience resources. Moreover, students will get in contact with more senior level of employees and they can guide them in their career, for example whether students should go for higher studies or experience in the field is more vital.

In conclusion, companies and students will both get benefits, however, I believe, students will get more advantages in the long run since they will learn vital skills that will aid them in building their career.