Many small local shops are closing as they are unable to compete with large supermarkets in the area. How does this effect local communities? How would this situation be improved?

Due to the commercial promotions and availability of a wide range of products under one roof in supermarkets, which are ubiquitous led to the closure of small businesses. This essay will suggest the biggest problem caused by the shutting down of the local shops and then solutions to ameliorate the situation.

Firstly, it is true that local shops are being closed down due to the lack of competency with huge businesses. As a result, most of the local entrepreneurs and people are becoming jobless, which in turn causes financial strain on their families. Therefore, those who want to sustain themselves in such a competitive environment should come up with unique business strategies to avoid getting into debt and earn profits. If local shops offer home delivery, cash on delivery, and discounts or gifts on some products might entice people to purchase from them. The local shop in my colony; for instance, presents one litre of cooking oil on purchase of products worth one thousand Indian Rupees.

Secondly, people should realize that even though, all the products are available at one shop in the supermarket, they are overpriced. Consequently, the local people are squandering more money in supermarkets. Instead, if people do not fall prey to their advertisements and decide wisely whether to purchase from expensive supermarkets or from the reasonably priced local shops. Hence, the money saved can be the savings of the local customers. Nevertheless, governments should promote local shops and their products. Moreover, through such measures taken by the government, people will be aware of the products available in local shops and motivated to buy from them.

To conclude, despite competition with extensive supermarkets, local businesses should bring some changes as mentioned above in their marketing procedure to achieve success in their business. Also, it is the responsibility of local people and the government to encourage local entrepreneurs by considering the solutions above.