The mass media, including TV, radio and newspapers, have great influence in shaping people’s ideas. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer.

Today's world is about information, the information platforms like television, radio, newspaper and social media can create positive changes or negative environment in world with their content. Nowadays people spent most of their time around such contents repetitively, they are more prone to get influenced by it.

On positive side, the media has tuned the world in faster mode with its rapid information sharing ability.They spread the culture like music, fashion trends ,lifestyle, films etc which is entertaining element in our lives. They help us to know the weather conditions, traffic jams, intimations of natural calamities and awareness about diseases like Swine-flu etc which help us to take precautionary actions.For a instance , in 2018 when Kerala was flooded, the social media has played very vital role to spread the news and bring help to flood victims from world.

On other hand, there are instances where the media influences people in negative manner. Portraying violence through films, serials or articles can easily affects the thought process and behavior of people especially youth and teenagers. Furthermore ,the paid election campaign, spreading false news, trolling, international debates etc. may hamper harmony and peace. As a matter of fact, the recent survey of Times magazine shows many criminals gets the crime ideas from such serials and films.

To conclude, by keeping in mind that, the great power comes with great responsibility, media should introspect the content quality before broadcasting so that this powerful tool can only be used for betterment of world whereas individual should have the sense of knowledge to follow the correct information rather than believing on false content.