Mobile phones and the Internet are used by millions of people every day, but old people use these forms of technology the least. In what ways can mobile phones and the Internet be helpful for older people? What measures can be taken to encourage older people to use them more?

Since the revolution in sophisticated modern technologies, access of smartphones and internet for various purposes are inevitable. It is often argued that senior citizens are left behind to use of such digital platforms. However, larger percentage of youth are utilising these facilities without burden. In order to assist this issue, this technology can connect them to their social circle and enhance their experience in the global stage. Moreover, adults should take initiative and educate their parents for communication devices and internet services.

To begin with, there are diverse reasons why some experts believe that it would support those who are illiterate in terms of utilizing contemporary devices such as smartphones because of age factor. A primary solution would be, elderly can chat and texting to their members of family in emergency consequences. As a result, he or she gets help from families in deteriorate circumstances. Another explanation is that through internet, they can learn various skills in their retirement ages, which may lead to expand their inner horizon to acquire knowledge and information globally. A recent study, for an illustration, being published in the Economic Times revealed that those residents who are aged 60 or more willing to deploy time with a computer to chat and an access of networking sites, feel 30% more positive attitude than others. Therefore, it is essential for aged personalities to start access of new digital platforms.

Apart from this, in order to promote senior population to access of advanced communication devices and internet, adults or young children should come forward and offer a smartphone with various easy applications, which leads to start interaction with new devices. Another obvious solution is to have a social networking account in either computer or laptop, so that they start communicating with their social established connection. For an instance, hundreds of thousands aged population, particularly in developing nations, have progressed a skill to ordering necessary items online and applying various claims relating to their personal tasks such as pension and insurance in the recent years. Hence, this example speaks that motivating elder people to use of new technologies demand to update their livelihood.

To sum up, even though digital platforms demand requisite knowledge to use of smartphones and online services, many individuals have acquired this ability to link social relations. Besides, with help of youngsters, it can be learnt easily without technological barriers. It is advisable that old people should upgrade their inner knowledge to compete in this fast paced world.