Mobile phones and the internet could have many benefits for old people. However, this age group uses technology at least. What are the benefits for the old people of using mobile phones and the internet? How can we encourage them to use this technology?

In this contemporary era, after the dawn of science and technology, over 90% of the total population has been started using smartphones as well as the internet. Especially, elder people have been more beneficial by using it in their solitary life, however, the number has escalated for the senior citizens. The main advantages are it keeps connected with loved once, and be in contact through social media. Moreover, education and news could play an indispensable role in encouragement. I shall discuss the cons and ways to attract them in the coming paragraphs.

Firstly, mobile phones have made our life easy and gave us more comfort than ever. It has contributed a lot to keep in contact with our loved ones no matter where they are living. Elder youth could easily stay in touch with their kids as well as their grandkids too. However, the internet on the phone could make it easier for them by doing a video call. They feel extremely delightful while watching their kid's faces. Facetime, for the instance, an application on the iPhone that works with the internet and can help older people to do a video call with their family.

Secondly, to learn new technology might be difficult for them at the beginning, but with proper education and support from young youth, it could be fruitful for them. The government should arrange an awareness program about use of the smartphones and the internet on the computer and on phone only for that perticular age group. However, elder generation could educate themseves by watching videos and reading books related to the use of the internet and smartphones. As a consequences, they would not feel lonely and also keep themselves up-to-date with current development and inovation in different countries and sectors.

To put it in a nutshell, the technology has played a significant role in everyone's life no matter how older are they. The use of phone and the internet by older people would give them new spirit to live life after their retirement and away from their loved one. The number of users are low but with encouragement and the government support it could be increased dramatically.